Just another WordPress.com site

Dear dad….


Dear Dad,

Tomorrow will be 3 years since God made you an angel…not a day goes by that I do not think of you. I think of you whenever I walk by our piano and hear the beautiful music your grandson plays us almost nightly…I see your smiling face in Isaiah’s eyes, and hear you whenever he tells a joke, very reminiscent to ones you would tell. Β I see you in the shape of Kaeden’s hands, feet and face, and in his spirit. I miss you so much, it still hurts so deeply in my very soul…

I miss how wise you are, how calm you made me feel inside, the warmth of your kindness. I miss our heated religious debates, and your view of the world. Mostly, I miss how your hugs would automatically make everything better.

Whenever Kai plays the piano, I remind him how special his gift is, his legacy from you….when I see how silly Isaiah is, I often comment how much he is like you…and when I put Kaeden to bed at night, I tell him stories of his angel grandpa. He has started to really ask about you dad…I wish you could see how wonderful your grandsons are…but I know you peek in on us from time to time, and keep us safe, and feeling loved.

I haven’t painted much this year, because when I do, it makes me cry, but I will keep trying. Missing you is really hard, but I feel that is a blessing your suffering has ended.

I love you daddy. You are forever in my heart, and always a blessing. Though my thoughts of you today make me cry, they are tears of happiness for you truly are the best dad a girl could ever have.

Lizzy

Comments on: "Dear dad…." (12)

  1. Katie Squires said:

    I’m calling my Dad today….thank-you…beautiful post

  2. Very beautiful Liz πŸ™‚

  3. Beautiful, Lizzy. Making sure to count my blessing that is my Dad. xoxo Mar

  4. You write so beautifully, brought tears to my eyes. I’m so sorry for your loss.
    Xoxox

  5. Tania Zorn said:

    this makes me teary, Liz. I know how difficult it is to lose a parent. hugs as you get thru the next few days. at 3 years, the pain is still very raw. thinking of you and sending prayers for comfort and strength. this is a beautiful tribute to your daddy – and he knows. hugs.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

